The regular meeting of the Tarkio R-I Board of Education was held July 20, 2017, in the board meeting room of Tarkio R-I Schools. The meeting was called to order and the Pledge of Allegiance was recited. Board members in attendance were Chris Yates, Jeff Meyer, Jamie Barnett, Lydia Hurst, Rachel Graves and board secretary Diane Hicks. Bruce Lang came in at 7:15 p.m. Others in attendance were Tarkio R-I Superintendent Karma Coleman, Tarkio Elementary Principal Dr. Deborah Taylor, and Tarkio High School Principal Carrie Livengood.
The consent agenda and meeting minutes from June 15, 2017, were approved, as well as the transfer of incidental funds to special revenue to pay certificated salaries and district obligations.
The board voted to set the 2018 graduation date for Sunday, May 13. Updates were given on the Livestock Learning Lab and transportation. Superintendent Coleman gave a report.
The board voted to accept the bids from Anderson-Erickson for milk, Rex Younger for fuel, and Hy-Vee for bread.
The E-Rate 2017-18 Consulting Agreement was discussed, as well as the Heartland Recreation Center 2017-18 Contract Agreement. Honey Tree lunch fees, as well as Tarkio R-I registration fees were discussed. The board voted to set the technology fees at $25.
The meeting moved into closed session at 8:03 p.m. to discuss and vote on the late resignation of Mr. Cheyenne McClain. The board voted to accept the late resignation and to assess the penalty of 7½% as per district policy for the late resignation. The board voted to approve the hiring of Lea Peregrine for a para position.
The meeting came out of closed session at 8:19 p.m.  and the meeting adjourned at 8:23 p.m.