May 25, 2006
The elementary building and new gymnasium turned 50 years old this month. Work began on both buildings in 1955 and was completed in 1956. The Fairfax Class of 1956 got their diplomas on Wednesday evening, May 9, 1956, during the first gathering that was held in the new gymnasium.
Community Hospital Association staff paid tribute to all its volunteers May 10, during Hospital Week celebrations. Named “Outstanding Volunteers” for 2006 were Doug Miller, Jim Holtz, Danny Chandler, Jerry Whittington, and Tracy Oswald, Fairfax; Barbara Taylor, Janene McEnaney, and Nancy Hurst, Tarkio; Shawn and Jodee Minter, Rock Port; Paul Wessler, Westboro; and Tim Wayne Krein of KMA Radio, Shenandoah, Iowa.
Kaylyn Sly placed eighth and medaled in the shot put during the state track meet in Jefferson City, Missouri.
Logan Pyeatt placed 24th in the state golf tournament in Republic, Missouri.

May 30, 1991
Harry Emrick was honored last week for being affiliated with the Exchange Bank of Fairfax for 50 years. Family members and Exchange Bank personnel attended a dinner and roast honoring Harry at the Arbor Manor in Auburn, Nebraska.
Cheerleaders have been selected for the 1991-92 school year at FHS. They are: basketball – Paula Easley, Toby Whittington, Dana Kemerling, Carrie Whittington, Nicole Harding, and Kelly Sites; football – Paula Easley, Toby Whittington, Jena Cottle, Beth Lewis, Tara Swinehart, and Pepe Cooper.
Winners of the Poppy Poster Contest, sponsored by the American Legion Unit of Fairfax, were: Danielle Beck, fourth grade; Trudy Heitman, fifth grade; and Megan Smith, sixth grade.

May 26, 1966
A new sign at the east city limits of Fairfax shows Fairfax’s association with the State Community Betterment Program. It also displays the town’s first star – for achievement in the field of education.
There were 97 children registered in the community Bible School conducted by the Christian, Presbyterian and Methodist Churches this week.
Some 410 alumni members and guests were on hand for the Fairfax Alumni Banquet. Bill Umbarger was elected president; Evelyn Whitford, vice-president; Marguerite McConnell, treasurer; and Pauline Arnold, secretary.
Mr and Mrs. Melvin Rogers, Kansas City, are the parents of a daughter, Leigh Ann, born May 20 at the Trinity Lutheran Hospital in Kansas City.