Tarkio High School and East Atchison athletes, as well as supporters, were honored at an awards’ banquet held on Tuesday, May 24, 2016, at the Tarkio Community Building. Everyone enjoyed a delicious meal before the awards were presented.
Wrestling head coach Bryant Hummel got the ball rolling by recognizing this year’s Tarkio High School wrestlers. They were Dalton Sawyer, Emily Vance, Daniel Ripley, Kris Riley, and Dayton Murry. All of them received a T letter for their efforts. Wrestling cheerleading coach Markie Sundermann recognized this year’s wrestling cheerleaders, including Hannah Blank, Jordyn Hogue, Shaylee Sparks, Jordan Heard, Haley Murry, and Jayden Viets. All received a T letter for their efforts.
Tarkio High School girls’ basketball head coach Robbie Bates recognized this year’s players. T letter recipients included Gentri Staten, Shelby McCartney, Madison Ohrt, Chloe Bruns, Lily Graves, Kaely Kirwan, Grace Martin, and Catelyn Prater. Player McKenzie Hines was also recognized, as well as managers Bree Barnett and An Nguyen. Those who were honored with individual awards included: Spirit Award – Lily Graves and Bree Barnett; Hustle Award – Grace Martin; Outstanding Defender – Madison Ohrt; Rebounding Award – Shelby McCartney; and Indian Award – Gentri Staten.
Tarkio High School boys’ basketball head coach Robbie Bates recognized this year’s players. T letter winners included Brendon Bruns, Ethan Riley, Connor Shaw, Shae DeRosier, Colin Joesting, Gage McAdams, and Garrett Meyer. Other players recognized included Andrew Thomas, Alex Driskell, Wyatt Gray, and Troy Wennihan. Individual awards presented included: Hustle Award – Shae DeRosier; Most Improved – Garrett Meyer; Outstanding Defender – Gage McAdams; Coach’s Award – Brendon Bruns; MVP – Connor Shaw; and Indian Award – Ethan Riley.
Tarkio High School cheerleading coach Erica Taylor recognized cheerleaders Alissa Hurst, Destiny Klosek, Haley Hall, Bella Hurst, Madison Ohrt, and Emily Hunt. Alissa Hurst received the Most Valuable Cheerleader Award. Destiny Klosek received the Spirit Stick Award.
East Atchison girls’ track coach Joe Unternahrer recognized this year’s EA letter winners. They included Blair Broermann, Amanda Culver, Destiny Klosek, Alyssa Garrison, Shelby McCartney, Haley Murry, Madison Ohrt, Shelbey Morris, Gabby DeRosier, Kaely Kirwan, Catelyn Prater, and Grace Martin. Others recognized included An Nguyen, Melissa Lang, Madison Lesher, and Lily Graves. Amanda Culver was a Class 1 Missouri State Track and Field competitor in the pole vault, placing 7th overall with a height of 8’9”.
East Atchison boys’ track coach Sean Feehan recognized this year’s EA letter recipients. They included Garrett Ball, Alex Carroll, Brody Cooper, Shae DeRosier, Dawson Joesting, Conner Marshall, Gage McAams, Garrett Meyer, Nick Owens, and Shane Wallace. Gage McAdams was a Class 1 Missouri State Track and Field competitor in the pole vault, placing 1st overall with a height of 13’6”. His vault also broke the Tarkio High School boy’s pole vault record held for 45 years by Brad Nixon (his record of 13’ was set in 1971).
East Atchison boys’ golf coach Aaron Behrens recognized this year’s EA letter recipients. They included Brendon Bruns, Jayton Johnson, Ethan Riley, Dayton Murry, Colin Joesting, and Keevan Baker. Other golfers recognized included Dawson Joesting, Daniel Ripley, Zach Sapp, and Jimi Elder.
East Atchison boys’ head baseball coach Casey Martin recognized this year’s EA letter recipients. They included Garrett Ball, Dalton Sawyer, Connor Shaw, Andrew Thomas, Noah Brooks, Brody Cooper, Shae DeRosier, Dylan Jeffords, Luis Villagrana, Tyler Brown, and Gage McAdams. Other players recognized included David Bungenstock, Gage Crowley, Trey Agnew, Zachery Garrison, Jayce Navin, and Hunter Tunnell. Individual baseball awards presented included: Wolf Award – Luis Villagrana; Most Improved – Dylan Jeffords; and MVP – Brody Cooper.
Tarkio High School athletic director Jayme Wood recognized Megan Lee as the mascot this year. Megan received EA and T letters for her efforts.
Casey Martin presented this year’s M. David Palmeiro Foundation Scholarhip. The recipient was Garrett Ball of Fairfax. Casey also presented the Bruce Hogue Memorial Scholarship. The recipient was Brendon Bruns of Tarkio.
Melody Barnett presented the Duke Nuckolls Memorial Scholarship. This year’s recipient was Gentri Staten of Tarkio.
The Tarkio Athletic Booster Club, represented by Shannon Bruns, recognized Mary Ann Hull as Booster of the Year. The East Atchison Booster Club, also represented by Shannon, recognized Mark Staten as Booster of the Year.
George Barnett of Tarkio received the “Forever An Indian Lifetime Dedication” Award for his many years of support of Tarkio athletics.
Jayme Wood presented this year’s Outstanding Senior Athlete trophies to Destiny Klosek and Connor Shaw.