September 15, 1966
Rock Port High School will be receiving a new music room. The new 34 foot by 60 foot room will occupy the upper half of the old gymnasium over the school cafeteria. The new room will contain an office as well as three sound proof practice rooms. The new addition is being built by Burke & Sons.
September 16, 1976
The recent blood drive was very successful. 55 pints of blood were collected for the Community Blood Center for the Greater Kansas City area.
The County Fair greeted 4-Hers and FFA members as they showed their stock at the Atchison County Fair. The largest number of entries was in the beef division with 72 young cattle. The second largest number was in the swine division with 21 entries. Sheep entries only numbered nine.
September 18, 1986
Maurice Forbis was featured by “Places.” He joined the company in 1946. He started as a manager at the Albany store in 1945 and then moved to Knoxville, where he managed for several years. Since leaving Knoxville, Forbis has been the manager at Rock Port.
September 19, 1996
Jo Stevens, President of the Rock Port’s Women’s Bowling Association was presented with a plaque commemorating 25 years with the Association. It also marks the 25th anniversary of Blue Jay Bowl.
September 21, 2006
Chief of Police Curtis Elam welcomed a new assistant, Shannon Sherwood who comes from the Tarkio Police Force. Sherwood brings with him 2 years of experience.