The regular meeting of the Tarkio R-I Board of Education was held Thursday, December 15, 2016, in the board meeting room at Tarkio High School. The meeting was called to order by President Steve Klute at 7:00 p.m. with reciting the Pledge of Allegiance. Board members in attendance included Corey Lesher, Jamie Barnett, Lydia Hurst, coming in at 7:04 p.m., Bruce Lang, Rachel Graves, and board secretary, Diane Hicks. Others in attendance were Tarkio Elementary Principal Dr. Deborah Taylor, Tarkio High School Principal Carrie Livengood, Tarkio R-I Interim Superintendent Bruce Skoglund, Tarkio R-I Interim Superintendent Rob Dowis, Administrative Assistant H.T. Adams, Cindy Rolf, Markie Sundermann, Deyton Thomson, Letetia Sotomayor, Cheyenne McClain, Cherie Heits, Jami DeRosier, Amy Haddock, and board member Chris Yates coming in at 7:30 p.m.
The board voted to adopt the consent agenda. They also approved minutes from the November 17, 2016, meeting, as well as the transfer of incidental funds to special revenue to pay certificated salaries. They also approved the filing dates for the Board of Education, as well as the district obligations.
Staff reports were heard from Cindy Rolf, Markie Sundermann, Deyton Thomson, and Letetia Sotomayor.
Administrative reports were given by Dr. Deborah Taylor, Carrie Livengood, and H. T. Adams. Mr. Adams presented one bid for the removal of the asphalt behind the bus barn. Atchison Recycling submitted a bid for $14,000.
The meeting moved into closed session at 7:30 p.m. Bob Conrad was in attendance to present the 2015-16 audit. The meeting returned to open session at 7:45 p.m.
The board voted to accept the resignations of Beth Nelson, Bonnie Martin, and Briana Blackman.
Mrs. Heits, junior class sponsor, was in attendance requesting the THS Jr./Sr. Prom be held at the Countryside Bistro. The board approved the location.
Mr. Cheyenne McClain and Mrs. Amy Haddock were in attendance to get approval for the senior trip. Senior trip was approved. Two new substitutes were approved. The meeting moved to closed session. The meeting moved back into open session at 10:10 p.m. The board voted to allow Madelyn Quimby to graduate at the end of the first semester. The meeting adjourned at 10:11 p.m.