The Tarkio Police Department is helping sponsor a two-day Concealed Carry and Firearms Safety Training Course May 6 and May 7. The Saturday session will be held from 9 a.m. – 5 p.m. at the Tarkio City Hall courtroom located at 602 Main Street in Tarkio. The last session on May 7 will be held at the shooting range from 2 p.m. until 6 p.m. or until qualifications are completed.
Both Saturday and Sunday sessions must be attended in order to meet state standards for Concealed Carry Permit. Included in the training will be a live-firing exercise, a live-fire test, firearm safety, information about firearms and ammunition, marksmanship, gun-handling techniques, and the presentation of Missouri law related to concealed carry, unlawful use of weapons, and justifiable use of force.
The range activities will include:
• A live firing exercise of sufficient duration for each applicant to fire both a revolver OR a semiautomatic pistol, from a standing position or its equivalent, a minimum of twenty rounds from each handgun at a distance of seven yards from a B-27 silhouette target or an equivalent target;
• A live-fire test administered to the applicant while the instructor was present of twenty rounds from either a revolver or a semiautomatic pistol from a standing position or its equivalent at a distance from a B-27 silhouette target, or an equivalent target, of seven yards.
Participants will need to provide a revolver OR a semi-automatic handgun, and a minimum of 40 rounds of semiautomatic ammunition OR 40 rounds of revolver ammunition.
For safety reasons, all handguns must be holstered in a properly fitting holster and have a nylon or leather belt.
Those successfully completing the course will receive a “Certificate of Firearms Safety Training Course.” Such certification is mandatory before a person can receive a concealed carry endorsement in Missouri. Persons applying for admission to class must be 19 years of age or older. Cost of the firearms course is $60.
Upon successful completion of the Firearms Safety Training Course, you must apply for a certificate of qualification for a concealed carry endorsement from the sheriff of the county in which you reside. An additional fee is required by the sheriff in the county in which you reside for processing. Check with the Sherif’s Office in the county where you reside for the amount of that fee.
If you are an Atchison County resident the fee for applying for a certificate of qualification for a concealed carry endorsement is $100 which includes fingerprint processing and criminal background check. This fee is in addition to the $60 for the firearms course.
Pre-registration for the course is required. You can pre-register by contacting Georgia Houghton at (660) 736-4780. If no answer, please leave a message including your name and number.