Pictured attending Auditor Galloway’s County government Day from Atchison County are: Clerk Susette Taylor, front row, third from right and Collector Diane Livengood, front row, second from right.

State Auditor’s conference focuses on preventing and detecting issues at the local level; 50+ counties represented from across the state
Leaders and representatives from counties across Missouri attended State Auditor Nicole Galloway’s County Government Day in Jefferson City today.
“As a former county official, I recognize the challenges that come with governing at the local level,” Auditor Galloway said. “My office is a resource for local governments and I’m proud of the partnerships we’ve built across the state. I appreciate the dedication of the county leaders who traveled to Jefferson City for this event as we work together for the benefit of Missouri citizens.”
The day-long training and conference included sessions focused on routine audit findings and ways to correct and prevent common issues. One session focused on requirements of local taxing districts, including tracking of financial activity. Another session covered common types of fraud, including ways to identify it and tips for working with law enforcement and the State Auditor’s Office if fraud is suspected.
Auditor Galloway, a certified fraud examiner, shared information about the State Auditor’s Whistleblower Hotline, which is a resource for Missourians who suspect waste, fraud and mismanagement of public finances or resources. Reports to the Whistleblower Hotline are anonymous and protected by law.
The event included about 120 leaders and representatives from more than 50 county governments across the state. The following counties were represented in attendance at the State Auditor’s County Government Day included: Adair, Andrew, Atchison, Audrain, Bates, Benton, Boone, Callawa, Camden, Cape Girardeau, Carroll, Carter, Christian, Clay, Cole, Cooper, Dallas, Daviess, DeKalb, Dent, Franklin, Gasconade, Greene, Holt, Howard, Knox, Lafayette, Lewis, Livingston, Macon, Marion, Maries, McDonald, Miller, Moniteau, Morgan, Osage, Perry, Pettis, Phelps, Platte, Ralls, Randolph, Ray, Saline, Scotland, Shannon, St. Charles, St. Francis, St. Louis, Stone, Sullivan, Taney, Vernon, Wayne, Webster, and the City of St. Louis.