Pictured with the new banner that will hang in the elementary are the entire elementary student body and faculty, along with the school board and special guests.

Dr. Margie Vandeven presents Superintendent Craig Walker with a plaque.

Pictured are special guests State Representative Allen Andrews, DESE Northwest Regional Supervisor Nancy Greeley, MAESP Executive Director Mike Schooley, Rock Port Elementary Principal Steve Waigand, Rock Port Superintendent Craig Walker, Commissioner of Education Dr. Margie Vandeven, and Senator Dan Hegeman.

Former elementary principal Jamie Evans and the current elementary student council unveil the new banner that will hang in the elementary front hallway.  Stu-Co members include: Desmond Chaney, Jacoby Driskell, Payten Shrader, Reed Miller, Cade Makings, Bracton Cook, Keira Roup and Tatum Vogler.

Rock Port R-II Elementary was recently selected as a National Blue Ribbon School for 2017. Nationwide, there were only 342 public and private schools selected, and only seven from the State of Missouri. “National Blue Ribbon Schools are active demonstrations of preparing every child for a bright future,” said U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos to the honorees. “You are visionaries, innovators and leaders. You have much to teach us: some of you personalize student learning, others engage parents and communities in the work and life of your local schools and still others develop strong and forward-thinking leaders from among your teaching staff.”
A celebration assembly was held on Thursday, November 2, at 2:00 p.m. in the Rock Port High School gymnasium. Superintendent Craig Walker welcomed everyone to the celebration and recognized those dignitaries who were in attendances: Dr. Margie Vandeven – Commissioner of Education, Nancy Greeley – DESE Northwest Regional Supervisor, Dan Hegeman – Missouri State Senator (District 12), Allen Andrews – Missouri House of Representatives (District 1), Jennee Gregory – Assistant Director of Northwest RPDC, and Mike Schooley – MAESP Executive Director.
Mr. Walker also spoke as to why Rock Port Elementary was selected. Yes, Rock Port’s standardized test scores from the last five years was one reason, but he also felt that it was due to great support by the teachers, staff, the families and community that enabled the students to be able to perform to their highest abilities.
DESE Northwest Regional Supervisor Nancy Greeley congratulated Rock Port and introduced Commissioner of Education Dr. Margie Vandeven, who also congratulated Rock Port Schools on their Blue Ribbon distinction and presented Mr. Walker with a plaque.
Elementary Principal Steve Waigand introduced four elementary students who spoke about why they feel Rock Port is great: Stevie Gaines, 1st Grade; Brock Sebek-Holmes, 3rd Grade; Daytona Paris, 4th Grade; and Stevie Pritt, 5th Grade.
The celebration was concluded with a slide show looking back over the last five years showcasing the students and their achievements.