Submitted by Abby N. Palmer, Band & Choir Director, Rock Port School District

Sunday, February 18, 2018, Mrs. Palmer, Jared Thomas, and Ayden Wilroy traveled to Columbia for the 2018 MU All-Juniors Honor Band. Students were selected by Palmer and then narrowed down by the college. It was quite an honor for these two to be selected. The band was comprised of 65 of the best musicians from across the state. Students were also able to participate in a college music audition. There were 18 juniors who auditioned on Monday. The college has awarded over $50,000 in scholarships to these students. Results of auditions and scholarships to follow!
Honor band students rehearsed all day Sunday and Monday. They got a real feel of what it’s like as a college music student. They went on a campus tour, heard many faculty and student ensembles, ate at the food court, and some stayed in dorms with college students.
A concert was held with the MU Wind Symphony Monday night at 7 p.m. in the Missouri Theatre. The All-Junior Honor Band program for the evening included Entry March of the Boyars (1894) by Johan Halvorsen and  A Little Tango Music (2007) by Adam Gorb, were conducted by Dr. Amy M. Knopps, and   Lax Aurumque (2005) by Eric Whitacre and Undertow (2008) by John Mackey conducted by Brian A. Silvey.