Since 1955, Atchison County music students have joined together to create a beautiful sound as one band for one night a year. This year’s production was held at the Fairfax Gym in front of family and friends Monday, February 26, 2018. The students from Fairfax, Tarkio, and Rock Port were under the direction of Mallory Mahon of Kansas City.
Mahon is the assistant director of bands at Oak Park Hill School and director of band at Antioch Middle School. She began her teaching career in 2008 and is a member of the National Association for Music Education, Missouri Music Educators Association, Missouri Bandmasters Association and the National Education Association.
The band played Tribute and Triumph by David Shaffer, Encanto by Robert W. Smith, Rock ‘N Roll All Night arranged by Paul Murtha, Sweet Georgia Brown arranged by Jay Bocook, and highlights from Shrek Soundtrack arranged by John Moss.
Also performing at the event was the Atchison County Choir, made up of choir students from all three towns. The students were led by Melody Barnett, Amy Haddock, Abby Palmer, and Debra Wyatt. The students sang I Lived by Jacob Narverud, Bridge Over Troubled Water arranged by Clyde Sechler, and Fight Song arranged by Roger Emerson. Band and choir members included:
* – Senior
# – Honor Band
^ – Honor Choir
Kilea Cooper – Fx, ^McKenzie Frohn – Fx, Dixie Hendrix – Tk, Tori Jordan – RP, Scarlett Kish – RP, Emma Pankau – RP, •Sophie Parrish – RP, •Liven Schokenhoff-RP
•Leslie Bradley – Fx, •Karri Bowling – Fx, Harley Caudill – Tk, Beth Davis-RP, RyAnne Herron – RP, Gena Mitchell – Fx, Morgan O’Riley – Fx, •#Mystie Robinson – RP, •Gretchen Tharp -RP
Bass Clarinet
Jaelynn Hill – Fx, Ayden Wilroy – RP
Alto Saxophone
Jae Barnett -Tk, Johnny Davis – RP, Shanna Gilpin – Fx, Cheyenne Gray – Tk, Rebekah Lucas – RP, Grace Martin – Tk, •Tacy Mitchell – Fx, Morgan Parshall – Tk, Brynnan Poppa – Tk, Shaylee Sparks-Tk
French Horn
Ella Rolf – Tk
Tenor Saxophone
Jaycee Graves – Fx, Anna Klute – Tk, Harlee Pritt – RP, Bryli Staten – Tk
Baritone Saxophone
Wyatt Burke – Fx, Mercedes Parshall – Tk, Lexi Somerville – Tk, Remington Stoner – RP
Katy Baker – Fx, Corben Bothwell-Tk, Cody Davis – RP, #Devin Guajardo – Tk, •Madison Ohrt – Tk, Fischer Tharp – RP, Jared Thomas – RP
Summer Greenwalt – RP, #Jordyn Hogue – Tk, Max Jackson – RP, Ashleigh King – RP, Jack Raison – RP
Trey Bowling – Fx, Tyler Brown – Fx, Ethan Lucas – RP
Alivia Baucom – RP, Max Hopkins – Fx, •Ben Lucas – RP
•Mickayla Bowling – Fx, Sophie Brumbaugh  –  RP, •Kaycee Davis – RP, •Mercer Deatz – RP, •Ally Demott – RP, Jimi Elder – Tk, Brett Gayler – RP,  Jesse Graves – Fx, Nick Hardisty – Fx, •Colin Joesting – Tk, •Conner Marshall – Fx, Cole Miller – Fx, ^Shelbey Morris – Fx
Jae Barnett – Tko, •^Hannah Blank – Tk, Hannah Brown – Tk, Harley Caudill – Tk, ^Skye Clark – Tko, Kelsie Davis – RP, ^Gabby DeRosier – Tk, Dixie Hendrix – Tk, Jamie Hendrix – Tk, ^RyAnne Herron – RP, ^Anna Klute – Tk, Anna Lester – Tk, CJ Minino – RP, •Selena Somerville – Tk, •^Gretchen Tharp – RP
Madison Driskell – Tk, Raelynn Gish – Tk, Summer Greenwalt – RP, Jordan Heard – Tk, Jessica Hunter – RP, Lil Laing – RP, ^Rebekah Lucas – RP, Grace Martin – Tk, Autumn Murry -Tk, •Madison Ohrt-Tk, Emma Pankau – RP, Destiny Sanders – Tk, ^Darius Skillen – RP, Bryli Staten – Tk, ^ Josie Watkins -RP, Alli Yates – Tk
•^Trey Agnew – Fx, Hunter Bennett – Tk, Jimi Elder – Tk, Aaron Haltman – RP, •Colin Joesting – Tk,  Preston Klappenback – RP, Benjamin Lucas – RP, Dillan Palmer – Fx, •^Chris Sticken -RP, ^Shane Wallace – Fx, Troy Wennihan – Tk