The 2018 Rock Port High School National Honor Society Induction Ceremony was held on Wednesday, October 10.  Members of the 2018 NHS are, pictured above, left to right, seated – Beth Davis, Ashley Cue, Josie Watkins, Riley Vogler, Katie Lininger and Darius Skillen; standing  – Cody Davis, Gabe Minter, Alex Burke, Ayden Wilroy, Brock Martin, Zachary Clauson, Will Oswald, Preston Jones and Fischer Tharp.

Riley Vogler far left, leads the NHS induction pledge to inductees – Fisher Tharp, Darius Skillen, Will Oswald, Gage Minter, Preston Jones, Cody Davis, Beth Davis and Alex Burke.

Eight new members were inducted into the Rock Port R-II Chapter of the National Honor Society on Wednesday, October 10, 2018. Membership in NHS is one of the highest honors one can earn in high school. NHS is far more than just an honor roll based on grades, although scholarship is the first step.

At the beginning of the school year, all juniors and seniors who have earned an A- overall GPA in high school are invited to learn more about NHS. If they are interested in pursuing membership, the chapter adviser provides the student information surveys on which the students can list their accomplishments, activities, honors, offices held, and other information that supports their selection based on Character, Leadership, and Service. They also receive the guidelines for the essay explaining why they are interested in NHS. Those materials are shared with the Rock Port NHS Faculty Council, along with evaluations from the high school building faculty. A selection meeting is held and all who receive the majority of the Faculty Council votes are invited to be inducted.

Being chosen a member of NHS is an opportunity to be recognized for excellence already achieved, and the challenge to become even better. As the year progresses, all members participate in chapter activities, earn community service hours, set goals for themselves, and maintain all the positive achievements that earned them their membership.

Mrs. Megan Bebb welcomed those present, and Ayden Wilroy gave a prayer. Music was provided by The Blue Jay Singers: RyAnne Herron, Rebekah Lucas, Summer Greenwalt, Josie Watkins and Gage Maxwell, accompanied by Abby Palmer.

Joining NHS in 2018 are new members: Fischer Tharp, Darius Skillen, Will Oswald, Gage Minter, Preston Jones, Cody Davis, Beth Davis and Alex Burke.