Commander Tim Morehouse spoke to those gathered at the Tarkio Legion Post. Also pictured are members of the Tarkio American Legion Auxiliary.

The American Legion Auxiliary presented an area rug to the American Legion in celebration of the Legion’s 100th anniversary. Linda Kaye Payton, left, and Cheryl Volker (hidden) display the gift.


The Tarkio American Legion Post #199 celebrated the 100th anniversary of the American Legion on Memo- rial Day, May 27. Area Legion and Auxiliary members joined in the celebration.

After World War I ended on November 11, 1918, the American Legion was found- ed by the American Club in Paris, France, by the members of the American Expeditionary Forces and chartered in September 1919, by the U.S. Congress.

Each state was then organized by districts and each district to individual posts. Upon the receipt of necessary information from the national headquarters in Indianapolis, Indiana, a call was published, inviting all eligible men to become members of a post to be organized in Tarkio. Twenty- four men responded to that call and became the charter members. The Tarkio charter was applied for on November 5, 1919, and established on November 26

of that year. Assigned Post #199, the first meeting was held in January 1920, at the Tarkio City Hall. The fol- lowing March the post was changed to Allen-Schiffern Post, in memory of Sylvester Allen, a private who was killed instantly by a burst of high explosive, and Private Roy Schiffern, who was wounded, captured and died a few days later in a German prison camp from lack of food and medical attention.

Every post in each state was numbered according to when they applied for application, such as Westboro Post 32, Rock Port Post 49, Craig Post 164, Fairfax Post 287, and Tarkio Post 199.

Charley Jones was recog- nized for having four generations of his family belong to the Tarkio post. Charley’s grandfather, Merle McAd- ams, was a charter member. His father, Charles Jones, Jr., was a member, and Charley and his grandson, Tyler Jones, are also members.

Linda Kaye Payton, Auxiliary president, and Sheridan Mires, secretary, also gave a presentation.