The Rock Port R-II School Board of Education held a regular meeting June 25, 2019. President Jeremy Davis called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m. Other members present were Ken Miller, Rich Dewhirst, Harold Lawrence, Dan Lucas, and Clay Vogler. Member Afton Schomburg entered the meeting at 6:30 p.m. Also present were High School Principal Donnie Parsons, Superintendent Ethan Sickels, Board Secretary Debbie Young, Amy Skillen and Leigh Ann Lawrence.

The agenda was adopted and the minutes of the regular meeting of May 13, 2019, were approved.

Mr. Sickels reviewed the financial information for the month ending May 2019. The transfer of funds, the May final check register, June check register to date and the activity account checks were approved.

Mr. Sickels read thank you notes from Kathy Ungles and Lynn Hunter, and a letter from Troy Cook regarding baseball. Amy Skillen presented a letter to the board regarding the library program with a request for additional compensation for extra hours worked. President Davis thanked Mrs. Skillen for her presentation. Mrs. Skillen and Mrs. Lawrence left the meeting at this time.



Mr. Waigand’s report was reviewed in his absence. He reported the 2018-19 school year attendance championship went to the fourth grade class with 98.01%. This class also won it last year as third graders. Sixth grade finished with 97.97% and fifth grade with 97.82% to round out the top three. The elementary awards assembly was held May 24. We kicked off the awards assembly with 61 students receiving attendance awards. The President’s Award for Outstanding Academic Excellence (A- average in 4, 5, 6 grade and 90% on MAP in reading or math) was awarded to: Bracton Cook, Zane Cook, Bayleigh Cooper, Jaymes Herron, Ryan Lucas, Avery Meyerkorth, Caleb Palmer, Payten Shrader, and Malachi Skillen. The President’s Award for Outstanding Academic Achievement (at least one of the criteria met above) was awarded to: Ryland Garst, Sienna Harmon, Jakobie Hays, and Hadleigh Jones. The top readers in each grade level (based on Accelerated Reader points), student council representatives, spelling bee winners, band members, and Battle of the Books participants were recognized. Cali Driskell (6th), Skylar Stoner (5th), and Isaac Dougherty (kindergarten) each had artwork chosen to be included in the Principal’s Art Gallery. Their talent can be seen on display in the hallway of the elementary building. Mrs. Eickhoff was recognized as the Rock Port Elementary Outstanding Educator of the Year. End of year activities were reported as follows: sixth grade held their annual heptathlon; the reading incentive party was held May 22; community reading volunteers were honored with a breakfast May 22; PreK-2nd Fun Day was held May 21; Elementary Track Day (grades 3-6) make-up day was May 20; Elementary Step-Up Day, the Teacher Appreciation Assembly, the 4th quarter STEM showcase, and the elementary spring program were all held May 15. Professional development: the Future-Driven Team sponsored Energy Bus training for the staff on May 23, Ciara Armstrong presented to the staff on May 21; and Mr. Waigand attended a District Continuous Improvement (DCI) conference in Branson May 13 and 14.



Mr. Parsons reviewed several upcoming dates. May attendance for the junior high/high school was 95.72%, and we finished the year with 151 students 7-12. Alivia Baucom placed 5th in the shot put and discus, and the girls’ 4×400 relay placed 8th at state track. Ethan Brumbaugh placed 24th out of 86 at state golf. The MSHSAA Award of Excellence was presented to Riley Vogler and Dalton Stevens, and the Outstanding Senior Athlete Award was presented to Kelcie Gaines and Dalton Stevens. The proposed changes to the athletic handbook were reviewed. Mr. Parsons also presented the 2019-20 high school math textbook proposal from Houghton Mifflin Harcourt.


Mr. Sickels presented the monthly program evaluation report on food service. He also reported the year-end balance of the Curnutt Trust PLTW grant money, and updated the board on the flood damage at the stadium as well as the status of the pending insurance claim. Mr. Sickels discussed the need to change the dates for the July and August board meetings. Following a brief discussion it was the consensus of the board that the July regular meeting be set for Thursday, July 18, 2019, at 6:00 p.m., and the August tax rate hearing be set for Thursday, August 15, 2019, at 7:00 p.m. with the regular meeting immediately following the tax rate hearing.

Ken Miller presented plans and led a discussion on possible future improvements to the west parking lot.

The board then proceeded to address items of new business. Action was taken to approve the final 2018-2019 bus routes and to approve 2018-2019 budget amendments. Consideration was given to bids for facility maintenance projects with action taken to approve the purchase of new cafeteria tables from School Specialty, and to approve roof repairs in addition to the original quote accepted from HSG Contracting. Action was taken to approve the quote from Midwest Data Center for Category 2 E-Rate expenditures, to approve the quote from Houghton Mifflin Harcourt for high school Algebra 1, Algebra 2, and Geometry textbooks, to approve the athletic officials’ pay schedule, to approve updates to the program evaluation schedule for 2019-2020, to approve the SDAC claiming addendum to the MO HealthNet Agreement, and to employ Jordan Duran and Mary Hale as paraprofessionals for the 2019-2020 school year. Following a brief discussion of future business items the meeting was adjourned.