Rock Port Golf & Country Club won the 15th annual Atchison County Ryder Cup Tournament held this past weekend. The team scored an 848, just one stroke less than their competitors. Pictured are, from left to right: front row – Mark Bennington, Brock Nuckolls, Logan Pyeatt, Brentlee Thomas, Damien Ellis, Trevor Hale, and Bill Bunton; middle row – Sam Lansdown, Jay Hunter, Ron Deatz, Reid Hunter, Jordan Shrader, Troy Cook, Garrett Schomburg, Ermal Wilson, and Tad Gebhards; and back row – Tyler Thomas and Dave Fast.

The 15th Annual Atchison-Holt Ryder Cup took place on Saturday and Sunday, July 20 and 22, 2019, between Rock Port Golf & Country Club, Mound City Golf Club, and Tarkio Golf Club. The tournament began in Rock Port on Saturday morning with a 9-hole scramble, then moved to Mound City in the afternoon for a 9-hole Best Ball round. Due to 6.5 inches of rain overnight in Tarkio and around 4 inches in Rock Port, the final 18 holes had to be played in Mound City with a 9-hole scramble on the front 9 and a modified alternate shot on the back 9. Each club took the top six scores from each 9-holes played.

The results are as follows: Rock Port Golf & Country Club (TPGCC) – 848; Tarkio Golf Club (TGC) – 849; Mound City Golf Club (MCGC) – 849


1st Place – Derek Rohlfsen/Greg Cook, TGC, 128; 2nd Place – Miles Jumps/Greg White, MCGC, 130; 3rd Place – Logan Pyeatt/Demian Ellis, RPGCC, 136; Mark Bennington/Tad Gebhards – RPGCC, 137; Tristan Ray/Morris Ray – TGC, 138; Jay Hunter/Garrett Schomburg – RPGCC, 141; Kaven Wood/Bakul Patel – TGC, 142; Kyler Rohlfsen/Kelly Rohlfsen – TGC, 142; Marrs/Marrs – MCGC, 143

A Flight

*1st Place – Brock Nuckolls/Troy Cook, RPGCC, 144; *1st Place – Doug Kline/Rusty Burge, MCGC, 144; *1st Place – Brett Scheib/Matthew Dudeck, MCGC, 144 (* three teams split 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place prize money); Jordan Landis/Jeff Atkins – MCGC, 146; Tyler Thomas/Brentlee Thomas – RPGCC, 148; Dave Fast/Reid Hunter – RPGCC, 149; Ed Salmond/Bill Smith – TGC, 149; Bill Bunton/Ermal Wilson – RPGCC, 150; Wilmes/Costello – MCGC, 150

B Flight

1st Place – Michael Nauman/Bruner, MCGC, 151; 2nd Place – Loucks/Taylor, MCGC, 152; *3rd Place – Cody Joesting/Tanton Ray, TGC, 154; *3rd Place – Charlie Kirwan/Jase Hughes, TGC, 154 (*teams split 3rd place prize money); KC Brandon/Luna – MCGC, 156; Trevor Hale/Sam Lansdown – RPGCC, 165; Jordan Shrader/Ron Deatz – RPGCC, 166; Harvey Mills/Steve Joesting – TGC, 166; Rob Grimm/Jim Hannah – TGC, 167.

Rock Port Golf & Country Club won the Ryder Cup for the fifth time in 15 years. The complete history of the Ryder Cup is as follows: Tarkio Golf Club – 2005-07, 2010-12, and 2017-18; Rock Port Golf & Country Club – 2013-16 and 2019; and Mound City Golf Club – 2008-2009.