W.C. Farmer received the Merrill Chilcote Award for dedication to journalism.

Northwest Missouri Press Association held their 129th annual meeting July 26, 2019, in Maryville, Missouri, on the campus of Northwest Missouri State University. The conference was packed with members from the Press-Bar Commission, one being Judge Roger Prokes. Information on changes concerning media in the courtrooms was presented.
This year’s recipient of the James C. Kirkpatrick Award was Rep. Allen Andrews for his work on the wind farm tax bill. The Craig Watkins Friends of Northwest Press when to Jim Bagley with United Fiber of Maryville, and the Merrill Chilcote Award for dedication to journalism went to W.C. Farmer.
Following lunch the group heard from Russell Viers on making the switch to Adobe Creative Cloud. Mark Massen, Excutive Director of Missouri Press, brought the group up to date on a new bill being introduced affecting newspapers.