The state of Missouri has received federal funding for a program that provides counseling for residents feeling stressed or overwhelmed because of the storms and flooding April 29 – July 5.

The Show Me Hope program is open to individuals and families who live in the following 20 counties designated for federal disaster assistance: Andrew, Atchison, Boone, Buchanan, Carroll, Chariton, Cole, Greene, Holt, Jackson, Jasper, Lafayette, Lincoln, Livingston, Miller, Osage, Pike, Platte, Pulaski, and St. Charles.

Crisis counselors in the 20 counties are available to connect residents with local mental health resources. All counseling provided is free and confidential.

You may contact the Show Me Hope provider covering these counties:

Pike County – Arthur Center, 573-582-1234

Boone, Carroll, Chariton and Greene counties – Burrell Behavioral Health, 417-761-5898 (contact Matt Lemmon)

Cole, Jackson, Lafayette, Lincoln, Miller, Osage, Pulaski and St. Charles counties – Compass Health, 844-853-8937

Livingston County – Department of Mental Health, 573-751-3070

Andrew, Atchison, Buchanan, Holt and Platte counties – Family Guidance Center, 816-364-1501

Jasper County – Ozark Center, 417-434-3458

The state is applying for six additional counties (Callaway, Jefferson, Lewis, McDonald, Newton and Saline) to be added to the crisis counseling services.

A separate counseling service is open to any Missouri resident who is experiencing stress or emotional strain from disasters. Contact the disaster distress help line 24 hours a day, seven days a week at 800-985-5990. You can also send the text message “TalkWithUs” to 66746.