Jay Hunter tees off on hole one for a play-off in Flight A.

The 2019 T.M. Wharton Blue Jay Classic Golf Tournament was held Sunday, September 1, at the Rock Port Golf & Country Club. Prizes were awarded as follows:

Flight A – 1st place: Team Hastert (Ross Hastert, Demian Ellis, Tyler Gebhards, and Jordan Shrader); 2nd place: Team Hunter (Pat Hickey, Reid Hunter, Jay Hunter, and Nick Andrew); 3rd place: Team Gebhards (Tad Gebhards, Mark Bennington, Sam Lansdown, and Ronnie Deatz).

Flight B – 1st place: Team Sierks (Chuck Sierks, Troy Hale, Gary Bogenreif, and Jarod Hudson); 2nd place: Team Harmon (Britt Harmon, Natalie Harmon, Tyler Thomas, and Kayla Thomas); 3rd place: Team Heits (Tyler Heits, Hayden Wood, David Luna, and Brett Scheib).

Overall Worst Score and Least # Birdies went to Team Ellis (Tawni Ellis, Kymm Nuckolls, Caitlan Bantam, and Jen Vogler).

Committee’s Choice Awards and the prizes were: Worst shot of the day – Jen Vogler (alumni metal sign); Worst cart driver and latest – Aron Burke (alumni metal sign); Best Help behind the scenes – Ross Hastert (Blue Jay flag).

Hole prize winners were: #1 Closest to pin – Ron Deatz; #2 Longest putt – Troy Hale; #3 Men’s largest drive – Ethan Brumbaugh; #3 Women’s largest drive – Tawni Ellis; #4 Closest 2nd shot on green – Scotty Schoonover; #6 Closest to pin – Jordan Shrader; #7 Closest to pin – Nick Andrew; #8 Longest drive – Nick Andrew; #9 Closest 2nd shot on green – Ross Hastert.

Proceeds from the tournament go to support Rock Port athletics.