The Tarkio R-I Board of Education met April 22, 2020. President Jeff Meyer called the April board meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. Board members in attendance were Jamie Barnett, Garrett Wood, Sam Hannah, Chris Yates and Steve Klute. Ann Schlueter joined the meeting at 7:02 p.m. Others in attendance were Tarkio R-I Superintendent Karma Coleman, Tarkio Elementary Principal and Special Education Director Kari Taylor, Tarkio High School Principal Carrie Livengood, and secretary Lanette Hogue. The consent agenda was approved, as well as district obligations.

Kari Taylor remarked that all teachers contacted their students to stay in touch during the closure due to COVID-19. She met with staff and had vertical team meetings via Zoom. They sent packets to all students with activities to complete over the closure. Mrs. Taylor said that the special education department sent resources to all parents for their children.

Carrie Livengood reported that the high school staff met in groups to plan activities for students during the closure. All students and parents were contacted to see who had internet services and who needed packets of work. Five project-based assignments were provided for all students for ELA, math, social studies, science and guidance.

Karma Coleman gave a financial report. DESE will withhold transportation and formula funding due to school closures. DESE is waiving spring testing and several other deadlines to help schools. Tarkio R-I will receive funding for feeding the students during the school closure. Mrs. Coleman and Mrs. Livengood met with seniors regarding graduation. They will meet with the seniors the first week in May, once the governor has made the announcement on the latest stay at home order. The district will bid out trash for 2020-2021. Bill has finished the lights in the multi-purpose room at TAC and is getting ready to work on the lights in the ag shop. He has started a list of summer projects that need to be completed. Mrs. Coleman has contacted MFA about using fleet cards for fuel for school vehicles. This will make it easier to track mileage for vans and school buses. The board members approved contracting gas at $1.44 a gallon and diesel at $1.76 a gallon for the 2020-2021 school year.

Board members voted to allow spending only 75% of the 1% required monies for PD due to the COVID-19 closures. The motion carried 7-0. They also voted to approve the Vision Impairment Contract with NLS Education, LLC for the 2020-2021 school year. The motion carried 7-0.

Fence line discussion was held about sharing the cost of repairing the fence between the school grounds and the Dustin and Jessica Lambertsen property. The board tabled the discussion until the May board meeting.

Board members voted to approve the bid of $26,184.40 from McFadden Construction to repair cracks and seal the parking lot at the TAC. The motion carried 7-0.

The meeting moved into closed session pursuant to RSMo §610.001, record and vote at 8:15 p.m.

The board voted to approve a contract for Barb Tubbs for the 2020-21 school year. Board members unanimously voted to approve employment for the following: Mary Beth Bredensteiner, Suzanne Brought, Marla Swaby, Bobbi Poppa, Nikki Parshall, Marilyn Brandenburg, Susan Jones, Jordan Riley, Crissy Drummond, Sandi Riley, Melissa White, Jerri Harbin, Connie Gebhards, April Johnson, Mike Clifton, Marie Joesting, Bill Joesting, Shannon Bruns, Meghan Hughes, Jim Bob Barker, Caralee Barker, and Ponya King.

Board members voted to increase Lanette Hogue’s wages for the 2020-21 school year. Roll call vote: Steve Klute, Jeff Meyer, Ann Schlueter, Garrett Wood, Chris Yates and Sam Hannah voted yes, and Jamie Barnett abstained. The motion carried 6-0-1.

Ann Schlueter moved and Steve Klute seconded to continue employment with Rachel Meyer for the 20-21 school year. Steve Klute, Ann Schlueter, Garrett Wood, Chris Yates, Jamie Barnett and Sam Hannah all voted yes; Jeff Meyer abstained. The motion carried 6-0-1.

The board voted to approve the 2020-2021 EA coaching assignments for Tarkio employees as presented without the inclusion of Jayme Wood.

Board members voted to approve Jayme Wood as head Junior High Volleyball Coach for the 2020-2021 school year. Steve Klute, Jeff Meyer, Ann Schlueter, Chris Yates, Jamie Barnett, and Sam Hannah all voted yes; Garrett Wood abstained. The motion carried 6-0-1.

The meeting moved out of closed session at 8:55 p.m. and was adjourned at 8:56 p.m.