The Rock Port Tourism Board met Thursday, April 9, 2020 via Zoom. Members present were Jennifer Alvarez, Holly Huntley, Angela Mace, Tami Lansdown, Mike Farmer, and Jody Vansickle. Kallie Sherwood and Chris Shimmel were absent. City Clerk Emily Schulte was also present.

Jody Vansickle called the meeting to order at 6:14 p.m.

Board members approved the meeting agenda, the March 12 meeting minutes, and the March 2020 financials.

Tami, Mike, and Angela’s Tourism Board terms are set for expiration. All are interested in serving another term. The Tourism Board recommended the mayor reinstate Tami Lansdown, Mike Farmer, and Angela Mace for another three-year term on the Tourism Board.

The 2020-2021 Tourism Board officers are: Jennifer Alvarez, president; Holly Huntley, vice-president; and Mike Farmer, secretary/treasurer.

The empty position was discussed. No applications have been received. Members will reach out to community members.

The Tourism Board needs to put two bids together for the turbine site; one for a needed initial clean-up and one for ongoing maintenance. Angela will contact the Park Board to see if they are interested in the shrubs. Mike is going to get a copy of the previous contract, take pictures of the site, and then begin working on new bid specs.


Dan Athen contacted Holly regarding the annual 4th of July celebration firework fund. Board members voted to donate $3,500 to the Rock Port Fireworks Fund.

Planning for the 4th of July volleyball tournament is on hold.

The Summer Bash can hopefully be postponed until it is safe to begin having gatherings again.

Jennifer has a letter ready inviting individuals to participate in the logo competition. Emily will create an email account for submissions.

The next meeting will be Thursday, May 14, 2020, at 6:00 p.m.