May 4, 1945

• Fred Andrews of Tarkio, Atchison County chairman for the Seventh War Loan drive, reports that Atchison County’s quota is $513,000. Citizens are asked to be generous in buying this issue of bonds.

• A telegram from the war department arrived last week reporting that Orval Wagner had been killed in action in Germany on April 13.

• Sugar stamp No. 36 in ration Book 4 became good for five pounds of sugar on May 1 and will remain good through August 31.

• Curtis Clifton, recently discharged from the Navy, has taken over the management of the Clifton Furniture Co., and his father, O.W. Clifton, expects to take things a little easier.

May 7, 1970

• The one act play presented by drama students of Rock Port High School received an excellent rating at state competition in Columbia, Missouri. Cast members of “Interviewers” included Mrs. Carl Henningsen, director; John C. Cox, student director; Ann Heyen, Ann Eilers, Fran Cox, Janis Jackson, James Polson, Bryan Cox, Randy Bunn, and Bob Christy.

• The University of Missouri Extension Council of Atchison County will soon move to a new building, to be constructed on Main Street, just south of the Rock Port Fire Department.

• An Evening in Paris was the theme for the fashion display presented Friday, May 1, by the home economics girls of Rock Port High School. The girls modeled clothing items they made throughout the year in the gymnasium, which was decorated to look like a French cafe.

May 4, 1995

• Gerald “Gabe” Shineman received the Missouri Association of School Administrators Outstanding Emeritus Educators Award for 1994-95. His career in education began in 1962 as a teacher, coach, and principal in the Westboro R-IV School District. He was also a teacher, coach, and principal in the Rock Port R-II School District.

• The Rock Port Blue Jays took first place and the Lady Jays took second place in the Panther Relays at Mound City.

• Over 80 sixth graders graduated from the Atchison County D.A.R.E. program April 21. Winners of the essay contest were: Jenea’ Kemerling, Fairfax; Hillary Chamberlain and Brent Showalter, Rock Port; and Jaylynn Cottle and Mary Wehmann, Tarkio. Jessica Moran, Rock Port, was the grand prize winner.